S. Farooq
Department of Geology
Aligarh Muslim University


The Himalayas constitute the highest, youngest, and longest E-W trending mountain system in the world.  Lying between the Tibetan Plateau on the north and the alluvial plains of the Indian subcontinent on the south, they contain most of the world’s highest peaks, eleven of which rise above 8000 m. The mountain system is located in the territories of India, China, Nepal and Pakistan, extending in a broad arc for 2500 km from the Nanga Parbat peak in the west to Namcha Barwa peak at the sino-Indian border in the east. Widths vary from 200-400 km, while the area covered is some 6,50,000, sq km.

The Himalayas have precise morphological and physical-geographical boundaries.  The longitudinal tectonic valleys of the upper courses of the Indus and Tsangpo (Brahmaputra) rivers form the northern border, while the northern edge of the Indo-Gangetic plain forms the southern border.  The Hindu Raj Range and the gorge of the Brahmaputra define respectively the north-western and south-eastern boundaries.  The Himalayas form the major orographic, climatic, and floristic barriers between the deserts of Central Asia and the tropical landscapes of South Asia.

Geology & Structure

Tectonic Features
Tectonic Evolution
Kumaon Himalayas

Notes & Handouts

The Himalayas

Kumaon Himalayas

Askot Basemetals



This website is hosted by

S. Farooq

Department of Geology

Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh - 202 002 (India)

Phone: 91-571-2721150

email: farooq.amu@gmail.com